Letter from Goa

A few more weeks have passed so the time has come for another update.

For the last couple of weeks I have been in Goa.  Despite the fact that Kiwis are supposedly the world's greatest travelers, it would seem that not many of us make it here.  I have yet to meet another Kiwi / Aussie, and most of the locals seem quite surprised to see me.

This might have something to do with the fact that it is so incredibly difficult to get here! Goa is about 600km south of Mumbai, and despite the fact that it sounds like a great concept; the “sleeper bus” is not an idea that I predict will take off world-wide (especially in countries with lots of pot holes).

Anyway I arrived here fairly bruised and exhausted and spent the first week having a great time at a place

called Anjuna, which is the “Techno capital” of the world (Thank you Carla for the recommendation).  A lovely beach with lots of hippies and Israeli teenagers wandering around smoking drugs.  It's like the place was magically time warped from the 1970s, although all the hippies now have wrinkles and gray hair.  Need a florescent poster with mushrooms and pixies on it?  A Tattoo? Or some E?  No problem!  I spent the week blatting around on a rented motor scooter, attended my fist ever Techno Trance party and had a great time.

This week I've moved on to a place called Colva, which is absolutely gorgeous. A long deserted pure white sandy beach.  Spending my days lying on the beach reading books which brief breaks for beautiful gourmet meals.  Total cost per day (all up including food, accom and drinks?) NZ$ 20.  I'm staying in a little guest house that is only assessable by walking along the beach for a kilometer carrying your backpack.

I should theoretically visit Palolem before I leave, which is supposed to be the most beautiful part of Goa, but I'm having such a nice time here that I probably won.t bother (naughty I know)

That's enough from me today.  Still alive, having fun (and no, I'm not bored yet)

Leave a Reply

