It’s Cool in Korcula

Zadravo All

This week I am in Korcula, which is an island off the coast of Croatia. As well as being the birthplace of Marco Polo, Korcula is famous for wine, crystal clear waters, beaches and sunshine.

Despite the fact that is is still a bit chilly (and I had to fight my way through 2m snow drifts to get here) it is absolutely gorgeous here. I have been spending plenty of time “chilling out” reading books in the sunshine on sidewalk cafes, beaches etc.

The other benefit of Korcula is that, like much of Dalmatia it is an almost untouched 13th century town, and is fantastic to just wander around.

It has been pointed out to me that my last email would have been more interesting had I extended my experience a ‘bit more’ with an; arrest at gunpoint / detainment in a heavily fortified prison / physical torture / a daring escape through an undiscovered tunnel (left over from the war) under darkness / an explosion of stockpiled ammunition that blows up and destroys the whole of Bratislava with the subsequent fires….AND a smart, beautiful MI5 spy who masterminded my liberation and falls in love with me!

If only!

Since Bratislava I have spent a few days in Vienna which was enjoyable but spoiled slightly by WW2 bombing and thoughtless rebuilding thereafter. If you have a choice and want to experience the joys of the Austro-Hungarian empire, then go to Budapest instead, it’s much more beautiful (and cheaper!)

From Vienna I caught the train through Slovenia to Zagreb which, (in the snow) would have to be the most scenically beautiful trip imaginable. Very very “Christmas Card” the whole way, and the hours flew by in no time.

Zagreb is an attractive 18th Century city with a very powerful positive vibe. The people are very patriotic and the war did have a big impact, but a little like the Czech Republic there is a real positive feel about the place. Be warned though, Croatia is not a cheap place. Property prices etc. are very high and four sausages costs USD10.

From Zagreb I caught the train to Split, which is a beautiful Roman City. Unlike most Roman Cities it has people living in it. It was a strange sensation sitting in a 4th Century AD Roman temple sending an email while watching the locals install an new LG Air conditioner.

And so here I am in Korcula.

From here I plan to visit to Sarajevo in Bosnia, then down the coast to Dubrovnik from where I will make my way to Venice for the Carnival. As the attached photo shows, the locals are already getting into “Carnival mode” here.

It’s carnival time!

After that I head back to Prague to start my new (grossly underpaid) job on the 14th of March. I doubt I will be doing it that long as I already have some interesting “irons in the fire” in Budapest, but as I think I’ve already said, it does provide a great starting point for Prague.

Dovidenja

 

Leave a Reply

