More exciting furniture news

We have been working away at our new house, slowly improving things, so for us it’s quite exciting, But its a slow process and probably quite boring for everyone else.

I have also been restoring some old antique furniture. Markéta can’t really understand this as she knows I am normally so impatient. But nevertheless, once I sit own and start working on something (currently an old chest which was originally for storing flour), time just flies by. I have even been sitting in the garden using my new electric sander in the sunshine. Besides being very annoying for the neighbours this is very weird as the weather has continued to be unseasonably warm here. It’s not supposed to be possible to get a suntan here in February (unless it’s from skiing).

I’ll post a picture of the chest when I have finished, I wasn’t very intelligent otherwise I would have thought to take a “before” photo as well. Needless to say it was covered with centuries worth of grime (it was almost black) and smelt suspiciously of what I am reasonably sure was rat piss. I have no idea how old it is. However despite that fact that it’s quite a simple design, it was made totally without the use of nails or screws. Everything is beautifully crafted tongue and groove. It has a few screws now, but I felt quite the philistine adding them, even if they were absolutely necessary and well hidden,

The next projects after the chest are two beautiful 200 year old wardrobes that are currently sitting in the garage. I’m still not really sure about how to start these, so I’ve been putting them off for a while. People keep telling me things about meths and wire wool, but I’m not sure that even I have the patience for that!

Last weekend we went to a ball here in Slaný. It’s ball season at the moment and if you like dancing, then there is something for you almost every weekend. Markéta didn’t like this one so much as they were apparently not playing “proper music”. Proper music is waltz, valcik and polka. I on the other hand was very pleased with the mix of 80s and 90s pop music which meant that I didn’t have to embarrass myself with my atrocious ballroom dancing skills.


Leave a comment