Easter Fun

Pomlazka 2007

I have just finished making my pomlazka. After two years of training I felt that I was capable of flying solo and so I’ve made my own this year.

I am quite pleased with the result. I have used seven willow shoots. Eight is more traditional – but I was feeling adventurous. I’m pretty happy with the result and I’m looking forward to putting it into action tomorrow morning.

It seems that women here in some ways have it comparatively easy. One Slovak was telling me that in his village they don’t use pomlazky, instead they just toss the women fully clothed into the river. It can’t be that pleasant as the weather is still quite cold.

For more about the wonderful Czech Easter tradition, see here.

Leave a Reply

